H Resetting the phone
Don't do anything until you have backed up everything you need
and have the BT install cabs if you want to get all your services back!
Contacts in your SIM don't get deleted but those in your phone memory will.
You will lose all Emails, photos, texts, ring tones etc unless they are on a memory card
You will lose the shortcuts so make a note of this website http://www.neilmorgan.co.uk/btbbanywhere
If you don't reload the BT software you will also lose the VOIP and Snap & Send facilities
Now for the reset
Make sure you aren't reading this on your phone!!!!
Switch the phone off
Hold down both soft keys and press the power button for less than 3 seconds
When a black screen appears asking for confirmation press the green telephone button
Follow the prompts
If you have the BT install files you will have full instructions there to load that software
And here's a picture version
If you just cannot get it to reset using the method above then there is another way that does almost the same thing
CLEAR STORAGE, enter 1234 in the box, the handset will reset.